britewordworm

February 21, 2012

Word Forty-Two: Standing Still

Filed under: 100 Themes Challenge,Continued Themes — by britewordworm @ 10:49 pm

(AUTHOR’S NOTE: This is a continuation of Word Twenty-Eight: SorrowWord Nineteen: Gray, and Word Sixteen: Questioning. Please read those three stories to understand more of what’s going on here…)

The pain of this loss wrenches my heart.

So much so, that here I am, still contemplating life and it’s worth.

Pills still in hand, as tears skirt down my cheeks.

I miss my big brother, so full of life and love. I miss his protective nature, how he would always make sure I was taken care of, how he would push me on the swings, how he helped me to ride a bicycle by myself.

Eight years later, I find I can barely function or pull through each day with a smile on my face.

They think I’m happy, that I’ve handled this well.

Inside, I’m numb.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

