britewordworm

July 14, 2011

Word Thirty-Five: Hold My Hand

Filed under: 100 Themes Challenge — by britewordworm @ 5:09 pm

The lights….they seemed so…..bright….

I couldn’t open my eyes all the way at first, but when I did, he was there. Right beside me. Wide awake. I wanted to tell him how much I loved him, how glad I was to see him, how the accident wasn’t my fault.

But I couldn’t.

Instead of words coming out of my mouth, there were respirator tubes. I tried to talk. I tried to yell. I even tried to whisper.

But I couldn’t.

I put my hand on the cold side gate of my bed. He reached for mine.

For now, that would do.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

