britewordworm

March 4, 2011

Word Twenty: Fortitude

Filed under: 100 Themes Challenge — by britewordworm @ 8:30 am

“Cigarettes are yucky, Mommy!”

I looked down at my four year old daughter, Melody. We had just finished lunch at Wendy’s when I went to reach for my most disgusting habit. It was a habit I picked up after Melody’s father left me for another woman, and since then, I found I couldn’t function without cigarettes.

I stopped walking, and my hands that were once seeking my addiction froze. I stood and watched Melody as she waited for me by playing with her dolly.

I grabbed the box of cigarettes from my purse, and with tears in my eyes, I threw them away.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

